14th Congress of Microbiologists in Bulgaria
with International Participation
10 - 13 October / Hotel Augusta / Hisarya, Bulgaria


On behalf of the Organizing Committee of the 14th Congress of Microbiologists in Bulgaria with International Participation I would like to invite microbiologists from Bulgaria and other European countries to take part in this scientific forum. The Congress will be held in Hisarya (37 km north of Plovdiv) between 10-13 October 2018. We hope that colleagues from all field of microbiology will present their newest research attainments. Along with reports of eminent investigators we anticipate a very intensive participation of young scientists which are the future of our lovely microbiology. The town of Hisarya combines the ancient Roman fortress and excellent balneological (spa) facilities. The social program includes a visit to the Starosel village with Thracian temples and the famous winery center.

Professor Angel S. Galabov, MD, DSc
President of the Congress Organizing Committee


Acad. Prof. Angel S. Galabov
Institute of Microbiology, BAS

Corr.-Mem. Prof. Hristo Najdenski
Institute of Microbiology, BAS

Assoc. Prof. Ekaterina Krumova
Institute of Microbiology, BAS

Assist. Prof. Rumiana Eneva
Institute of Microbiology, BAS

Corr.-Mem. Prof. Ivan Mitov
Medical University, Sofia

Prof. Maria Angelova
Institute of Microbiology, BAS

Assoc. Prof. Galina Satchanska
New Bulgarian University

Assoc. Prof. Lyubka Doumanova
Institute of Microbiology, BAS

Prof. Stefan Denev
Trakia University

Prof. Rayko Peshev
National Diagnostic and Research Vet.-Med. Institute

Prof. Krastyo Marinov
Military Medical Academy

Prof. Lyudmila Boyanova
Medical University, Sofia

Prof. Mariana Nakova
Agrarian University, Plovdiv

Prof. Mariana Murdzheva
Medical University, Plovdiv

Prof. Ilia Iliev
Paisii Hilendarski University, Plovdiv

Prof. Stefan Panayotov
National Center of Infectious and Parasitic Diseases

Prof. Rumen Karakolev
University, Veliko Tarnovo

Assoc. Prof. Nikolay Petrov
New Bulgarian University

Assoc. Prof. Maria Stoyanova
Pushkarov Institute

Assoc. Prof. Rossitsa Vacheva
Tsaritsa Yoanna Hospital / ISUL

Assoc. Prof. Mihail Iliev
St. Kliment Ohridski University, Sofia

Assoc. Prof. Lilia Ivanova
Medical University, Varna

Assoc. Prof. Petya Orozova
National Diagnostic and Research Vet.-Med. Institute

Assoc. Prof. Husein Jemendzhiev
University, Burgas

Deadlines & Fees

Till 31 May 2018
Regular - 125 Euro (Members of BSM Euro - 65 Euro)
Young Scientists and PhD Students - 80 Euro (Members of BSM Euro - 40 Euro)
After 31 May 2018
Regular - 150 Euro (Members of BSM Euro - 75 Euro)
Young Scientists and PhD Students - 100 Euro (Members of BSM Euro - 50 Euro)

Registration fee bank information:

Institute of Microbiology, BAS
26, Academician Georgi Bonchev Street
In Euro: BG72UNCR76303400001331
In Bg levs: BG47UNCR76303100117357

*You can view the information mentioned above in Bulgarian.


Meeting Grant

The Organizing Committee provides Meeting Attendance Grants to early career scientists working in Bulgaria or abroad. The Grant covers:

  • Registration fee
  • 3 night accommodation in nearby hotels booked by the organizing committee
  • Sofia–Hisarya–Sofia bus or travel expenses for a maximum amount of 20 Euro, which will be reimbursed

Young Scientists Meeting Grant requirements:

  • PhD students, post-docs, young scientists, and undergraduate students
  • Less than 36 years of age
  • Active microbiologists submitting abstract as first authors

In order to apply for the Young Scientist Meeting Grant, please send the following documents to before 30 June 2018:

  • Application form (download)
  • CV
  • Abstract

Applicants will be notified of the selection process outcome via email mid-September 2018.

Registration fees must NOT be paid before assignment of the grant.


All participants are invited to submit abstracts for oral or poster presentation, preferably on one of the topics listed in the registration form. Abstract submission will be opened on 1 April and the abstract deadline will be 15 July 2018. The abstract (word file) can be submitted by mail to Subject must contain: your name + topic + type of presentation (oral/poster).

Abstract submission guidelines:

Abstract length should contain < 250 words, in Times New Roman (12). Subtitles: aim, methods, results, conclusions. Example:
Effect of Plant Extracts on Staphylococcus aureus Growth (14)
John Maurice, Valentine Best and Hristophorus Georgios (12)
Rega Institute, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium (10)

Abstract structure:

  • Title – Capital letters (Capitalize Each Word), Bold, Times New Roman - 14 pt
  • Authors - Family name, Times New Roman, 12 pt
  • Affiliation of each author; Institution - Times New Roman, 10 pt
  • Aim - Times New Roman, 12 pt
  • Methods - Times New Roman - 12 pt
  • Results - Times New Roman, 12 pt
  • Conclusions - Times New roman, 12 pt
  • Keywords - 3-5, Times New Roman - 12 pt

* Abstract structure titles should be in bold.
Full manuscripts will be published in Acta Microbiologica Bulgarica (


For more information about hotel accommodation and travel details regarding Bulgarian participants, please view the following documents:

FEMS 2019

On the behalf of FEMS, we would like to inform you that the 8th Congress of European Microbiologists will take place in Glasgow, Scotland between 7-11 July 2019. More information on the event is available at


Dear Sir/Madam,

The Organizing Committee informs you that the 14th Congress of Microbiologists in Bulgaria with International Participation will be held in Ноtel AUGUSTA, Hisarya city between 10-13 October 2018.

Microbiologists and specialists will report their recent results, covering a wide spectrum of subjects in the field of general, medical, veterinary, soil, plant and environmental microbiology, applied microbiology and microbial biotechnologies, food control, virology, infectious immunology, mycology.

The aim of the Congress is this great number of scientists to present the newest achievements in the above mentioned branches of microbiology.

The scientific program includes plenary lectures, given by leading scientists from Bulgaria, as well as from other European and Balkan countries (Netherlands, Italy, France, Belgium, Ukraine, Poland, Turkey, Serbia, Greece, Albania, R. Macedonia, Croatia), a large poster session and round tables on hot microbiology topics.

During the Congress an opportunity will be given for exhibition and company presentations, dealing with production and supplement of lab equipment, chemicals, various reagents, samples for diagnostics, prophylactics and treatment of different disease in humans, animals and plants, food media, biotechnology products, new microbial technologies, etc. The experience of such kind of events reveals additional opportunities for commercial partnership and success of the companies using closer communication with the scientists.

We are pleased to invite you to take part in this Congress and to present your products and promotional materials. Your offers and leaflets could be included in the Congress materials on your demand.

Your participation in the work of the Congress will support this important scientific event, concerning health care, agriculture, industry and environment protection in Bulgaria.

Acad. Angel S. Galabov, MD, DSc
President of the Organizing Committee


Feel free to view this invitation letter in Bulgarian.

Requests and offers should be sent to You can download the offer form in Bulgarian and English.

The organizing committee of the Congress is grateful to National Science Fund (Grant DPMNF 01-10/01.08.2018) and FEMS (Grant MOG-2018-93) for the financial support.